Notre Dame Preparatory School celebrates its community members with the Foundress Society and the Hampton Awards

Celebrating Our Community
The Foundress Society honors distinguished alumnae and other members of the NDP Community who embody the spirit of Notre Dame Prep and advance the mission of the School Sisters of Notre Dame.

Created in 2010, as part of Notre Dame Preparatory School's “50 Years on Hampton Lane” celebration, the Hampton Award recognizes those individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the development of the school, particularly the Hampton Lane campus.

Make Your Nominations Below

Foundress Society Inductees

List of 6 items.

  • Criteria for Foundress Society Nominations

    • If an alumna, a degree-earning graduate 10 years out from time of nomination
    • A person of integrity who shows exceptional dedication and service reflective of the SSND mission and who, by her/his actions, works to better our world
    • A person who lives out the mission and philosophy of NDP
    • She/He may be living or deceased
    • Ideally, she/he has had a direct impact on the NDP community
  • 2020-2021 Inductees

    • Mary Bartel
    • Sister Joannene Merendino, SSND*
    • Cassandra Gray Roberson
    • Jane Kroh Satterfield '60*
    • Sister Sharon Slear ’61, SSND

    * posthumously
  • 2015 Inductees

    • Jacqueline Buedel ’73: Formerly president of Steel and Wire Products, one of NDP's first trustees, current Board member, first recipient of the Mother Caroline Friess, SSND, Distinguished Alumna Service Medal, and long-time volunteer (Editor's note: Jackie Buedel passed away in 2017)
    • Sister Kathleen Feeley, SSND, Ph.D.: ’46: Former long-time president of Notre Dame University of Maryland (formerly College of Notre Dame of Maryland); served in Africa and Southern Sudan
    • Christine Murry Kaiser ’68: celebrating her 35th year as an NDP educator and Dean of Students
    • Bette Ellis O’Conor ’46*: (posthumously) driving force behind the establishment of the Better Ellis O'Conor Humanities Program
    • Sister Delores Marie Todd, SSND ’48: NDP volunteer and faithful alumna
  • 2012 Inductee

    • Sister Marian Sullivan, SSND: long-time NDP math teacher and Dean of Students, on the occasion of her 60th Jubilee as a School Sister of Notre Dame
  • 2010 Inductees

    • Catherine Byrne Doehler ’36: The first female member of the Federal Reserve Board
    • Sister Patricia McCarron, SSND, Ph.D.: Headmistress of Notre Dame Preparatory School from 2005-present
    • Sister Patricia McLaughlin ’61, SSND: Executive Director of the Caroline Center, a job training center program for women
    • Susanne Albert Nichols ’51: Art teacher; NDP’s longest tenured faculty member having come to t he school
    • Jeanette Glose Partlow ’75: President of Maryland Chemical Company
    • Wendy Ann Strassner ’82: former Chairperson of the Sacred Heart Haiti Ministry and former President of ServeHAITI
  • 2005 Inductees

    • Dorothy M. Brown, Ph.D., '50
    • Sister Mary Ellis Denny, SSND
    • Sister Helen Marie Duffy, SSND
    • Sister Doris Ann Gentry, SSND
    • Claire T. Hartman '71
    • Sister Christine Mulcahy, SSND
    • Margaret Bagli Otenasek '51
    • Mia Sutphin '92

Hampton Award Recipients

List of 3 items.

  • 2020-2021 Honorees

    • J. Conrad* & Marilyn Cook Buedel '52
    • Barbara Leonard Daugherty '53
    • J. Fred* & Jean Glose
    • Lilly Mihm Hunter, M.D. '90
    • Arthur & Martina Varnado
    • J. Scott Wilfong

    * posthumously
  • 2015 Honorees

    • Mike & Sue Abromaitis: long-term volunteers and supporters of NDP, including of the Josanna Abromaitis Social Service Fund and former school Board member (Michael)
    • Michael & Honey Constantine: long-time volunteers for Notre Dame; in particular, Michael has served as a trustee (in non-consecutive terms) for nearly 20 years
    • P atricia Ennis Groeninger : long-time Middle Level coach and physical education instructor; founded NDP’s Sisters Academy Service Camp; continues to volunteer in numerous capacities well after her retirement in 2007
    • Houston MacIntosh, M.D.* & Diane Dippold MacIntosh, Ph.D., ’58: sponsors of The MacIntosh Women’s Lecture Series, which ran from 2007-2011, and The MacIntosh Library Reading Room; the Drs. MacIntosh also established The Margot and Diane Dippold Women’s Collection, including books by, for, and about women
    • Robert & Carol Swam: long-time school volunteers; in particular Robert served on the inaugural NDP Board of Trustees
  • 2010 Honorees

    • Michael J. Batza, Jr. & Patricia Kay Batza: Long-time supporters of NDP; Mr.s Batza was a member of the school's first-ever Board of Trustees
    • Jane Feldmann Cook ’71: dedicated NDP volunteer archivist
    • Henry J. Knott, Sr.* & Marion I. Knott* (*posthumously): Baltimore philanthropists and long-time friends of Notre Dame Preparatory School
    • James P. O’Conor & Bette Ellis O’Conor ’46: Mr. O'Conor was intrinsic to the land deal which facilitated the purchase of the Hampton campus; the O'Conors founded the Bette Ellis O'Conor Humanities Program.
    • Lawrence R. Rachuba & Diane DeChiaro Rachuba ’59: long-time volunteers and supporters of Notre Dame Prep.

Award Recipients

List of 1 news stories.

  • NDP Bestows Honors in 2020-21

    In Notre Dame Preparatory School’s 60th anniversary year, the school proudly recognizes community members who have exemplified the school’s stellar history as well as those whose contributions have ensured strength for the future. In April 2021, NDP inducted five and six new members to the Foundress Society and Athletic Hall of Fame, respectively, as well as awarded six Hampton Awards for service to the school.

    This group of life-long educators, entrepreneurs, elite athletes, visionary philanthropists, and dedicated volunteers would be impressive in any honors ceremony. The fact that Notre Dame Preparatory School can claim these remarkable 18 individuals as part of its school community is a gift for which all can be thankful!

    Click to read the full biographies of these talented, committed individuals.
    Read More
View All News

Make your Nominations Here!

Notre Dame Preparatory School’s Foundress Society honors distinguished alumnae and other members of the NDP Community who embody the spirit of Notre Dame Prep and advance the mission of the School Sisters of Notre Dame.

Notre Dame Preparatory School’s Athletic Hall of Fame honors those individual athletes, coaches, teams and managers whose high school and post-secondary athletic careers demonstrate the dedication, perseverance, integrity, and sportsmanship characteristic of gifted athletes.
Your Information
Nominee's Information

Notre Dame Preparatory School

An Independent, Catholic Girls School, Grades 6-12, Sponsored by the School Sisters of Notre Dame